The Sylvia Earle Award

Dr. Sylvia Earle, revered around the globe as a dedicated ocean advocate and respected marine scientist, explorer, filmmaker, author and policy champion, continues to lead the way as a visionary voice for ocean conservation and stewardship.

In 2009, BLUE presented Dr. Earle with an award for her many outstanding achievements in ocean advocacy.  This award has since continued on as Sylvia’s namesake award, paying special tribute to other individuals who also have committed themselves as unwavering Ocean advocates.  In 2010, Dr. Carl Safina was recipient of the the Dr. Sylvia Earle Award.

It is with this mandate to honor those who have shown exceptional dedication to the ocean and to use this awards presentation as a platform to inspire others about making a difference, that the BLUE Ocean Film Festival and Dr. Earle join forces every two years to present this very special award.

The Sylvia Earle Award recipients are chosen for their unwavering devotion to the ocean and whose work has made noteworthy contributions in one or more of the following areas:
  • Ocean Issue Awareness
  • Stewardship & Advocacy Education
  • Ocean Policy
  • Ocean Exploration
  • Grass Roots Activism
  • Ocean Visual Media
2012 – Mike deGruy
2010 – Carl Safina, PhD
2009 – Sylvia Earle, PhD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.